Skip to content
ETSU Search
Search events. View events.

All Categories

Submit Events

Welcome to ETSU calendar. Please use the Help button to the right for any assistance while using the Calendar.

Click for help in using calendar displays. Print the contents of the current screen.

Advanced Search

(New Search)

Event Details
Notify me if this event changes.Add this event to my personal calendar.Email this event to a friend.
Go Back
Student Honor Show 2014
Start Date: 5/1/2014Start Time: 9:00 AM
End Date: 5/1/2014End Time: 6:00 PM
This event recurs on a custom schedule.   Click here to see the series dates.

Event Description:

The ETSU Department of Art & Design and Slocumb Galleries in partnership with the Friends of the Slocumb Galleries proudly present the annual “Student Honor Show 2014” from April 14 to May 2, 2014. The awarding reception with the announcement of the Art Scholarships was held last April 17th, Thursday, 5:30 p.m., at the Ball Hall Auditorium. This year’s Juror is Bill May, Executive Director of the historic Arrowmont School of Arts & Crafts.

The Student Honor Show is the annual undergraduate art competition celebrating the creativity and excellence of work by ETSU students. Each year, the top awards Best of Show and Faculty Choice award are recognized with nine (9) Area Merit awards, two (2) Foundations Art awards and Craft Art awards. The Best of ShowContraption” by Freddie Lyle was selected by the Juror and received cash prize from the Johnson City Are Arts Council (JCAAC). Furthermore, Lyle’s “Contraption” and “Tapered” by Becca Irvin both got the Faculty Choice Award awarded by the Department of Art & Design Faculty. The Mark Russell Foundations Art awardees are “Balance” by Emily Matney for 2D and “Meditations On A Storm” by Lyn Govette for 3D.

The area merit awards are: “Tapered” by Becca Irvin for Ceramics sponsored by Highwater Clays, “Time Capsules” and “With & Without” by Tyler Ridgeway for Drawing and “Speak With Me (The Seeds)” by Chantel Wehr for Jewelry/Metals both sponsored by Jerry’s Artarama of Knoxville, “Untitled” by Rima Day for Fibers sponsored by Soleus Massage, “Tenfold’s Light Hide” by Priyanka Modi for Graphic Design sponsored by the Fletcher H. Dyer Graphic Design Memorial Fund, “Jill” by Hannah Harper for Painting and “Brantner: Annalee 16, Taylor 24, Mariah 18” by Trish Gibson for Photography both sponsored by Nelson Fine Art Center, “Rise And Fall” by Susan Voorhees for Printmaking sponsored by Wyatt Moody Printmaking Memorial Fund, and “Three Wise Men” by Michael Hale for Sculpture sponsored by the Art & Design Sculpture Fund.

Other awards include GFAA Graduate Art Award for “Doomed Beauty” by V. Kelsey Ellis, a distinguished work by a graduate student from the exhibition Diverge at the Reece Museum awarded to “Doomed Beauty” by V. Kelsey Ellis and two Photography Awards for “Katrina” by Megan King and “Catlett: Anna 16, Jackson 12 ” by Trish Gibson selected by the Faculty of Art & Design. This year’s awarding reception refreshments were sponsored by Earthfare and Marco’s Pizza.

The Slocumb Galleries’ events are all open to the public free of charge, from Mondays thru Fridays from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. with extended hours on Thursdays until 6 p.m., during receptions and ArtIfact lectures. Located at Ernest C. Ball Hall, 232 Sherrod Drive, ETSU campus. For more information, email Slocumb Galleries’ Director Karlota Contreras-Koterbay at or call (423) 483-3179.  Parking and handicapped access are available. For more information, please visit the ETSU PlanIt Calendar under Museum & Galleries category, or Friend the Slocumb Galleries @ Facebook to receive event updates.


Location Information:
ETSU Main Campus - Ball Hall
Room: Auditorium

ETSU Main Campus - Ball Hall
Room: Slocumb Galleries
Contact Information:
Name: Karlota Contreras-Koterbay
Phone: 423.483.3179
STudent Honor Show 2014
Web Address (URL):

Calendar Software powered by Dude Solutions   
Select item(s) to Search
Select item(s) to Search
Select item(s) to Search
Select item(s) to Search