Skip to content
ETSU Search
Search events. View events.

All Categories

Submit Events

Welcome to ETSU calendar. Please use the Help button to the right for any assistance while using the Calendar.

Click for help in using calendar displays. Print the contents of the current screen.

Advanced Search

(New Search)

Event Details
Notify me if this event changes.Add this event to my personal calendar.Email this event to a friend.
Go Back
'We Are Artists': Positive/Negative 32 National Juried Art Exhibition at Slocumb Galleries
Start Date: 3/23/2017Start Time: 9:00 AM
End Date: 3/23/2017End Time: 8:00 PM
This event recurs on a custom schedule.   Click here to see the series dates.

Event Description:

The ETSU Department of Art & Design and Slocumb Galleries in partnership with the Honors College Student Council, Women’s Resource Center, Slocumb Galleries Student Society, Privilege Walk Collaborative, and ETSU Civility Celebrations proudly present 32nd Annual Positive/Negative National Juried Art Exhibitions: ‘We Are Artists’ and ‘Open’ juried by Dr. Anja Foerschner from March 13 to April 7, 2017. The awarding reception is on March 23rd, Thursday from 5 to 8 p.m., at the Slocumb Galleries, with the juror’s lecture starting at 6 p.m., at the Ball Hall Auditorium.

Juror Anja Foerschner, photographer, art historian and independent curator from the Getty Research Institute in Los Angeles, California selected 32 artists for each of the Positive/Negative 32 Exhibitions ‘We Are Artists’ and ‘Open’ out of 116 submissions from artists all over the country. Her definition of a good exhibition as that which “creates dialogue and dissent” thus, “triggers thought processes and thus goes beyond being pure pastime” is quite evident on the works in the exhibition. Dr. Foerschner added, “In my opinion about today’s art, we are, in our contemporary culture, beyond the point where art is merely for pleasant contemplation. Now, more than ever, art needs to reclaim its place in society by moving us, making us think, pushing us to reconsider our opinions.”

The participating artists featured at the Positive/Negative 32 Exhibitions ‘We Are Artists’ are Mahedi Anjuman, Jenny Balisle, Jan Burleson, James Buxton, Bradley Coulter, Alex Curtiss, William Douglas, Sofia Dow, J. Casey Doyle, Stuart Fingerhut, Joel W. Fisher, Lidia Hasenauer, Adrian Hatfield, Meena Khalili, Gediyon Kifle, Sara Madandar, Noelle Mason, Dan McCormack, Elizabeth Mesa-Gaido, Adam Mysock, Brittany Richards, Kelly Salchow MacArthur, Brandy Scholl, Nikko Sedgwick, Todd Slaughter, David Stein, Eun-Kyung Suh, Patricia Turner, Lara Vaienti, Jennifer Weigel, Shaun Whiteside, Raymond Yeager.

Dr. Foerschner’s curatorial selections visualize the artistic agency and diverse advocacy that each of the artists represent. During the call for submission, Dr. Foerschner’s stated the need for “art that interferes with our everyday lives, with our society, our politics, our history, and our culture.” The Positive/Negative 32 ‘We Are Artists’ exhibition reiterated this position that “art needs to remain a unique tool for an artist to express his or her opinion, to work through one’s own struggles, and articulate one’s standpoint.”  Furthermore, the Positive/Negative 32 ‘Open’ selected primarily for its formal merit, still address relevant themes, albeit more subtle and covert, in parallel to the juror’s outlook that “in societally or politically difficult times, art is (and remains to be) a valid form of expression as well as a mirror in which we are confronted with our individual and common truths.”

The ‘P/N 32 Open’ is on view at Tipton Gallery until March 24, with a St. Patrick’s Day Cabaret performance by the ETSU Patchwork Players on March 17th, Friday, at 6:30 p.m. As an accompanying activity, the Multicultural Center, Slocumb Galleries, Counseling Center and the ETSU Privilege Walk Collaborative 2017 is also presenting the Privilege Walk focused on ‘Social Justice and Politics’ facilitated by Honors College Student Council and Student Government Association (SGA) Secretary of State Rana Elgazzar on March 23, at 12 noon, at the Multicultural Center. All events are open to the public, free of charge.

The Slocumb Galleries are located at 232 Sherrod Drive, ETSU campus. Gallery hours are Mondays thru Fridays from 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. with extended hours during Thursdays until 6 p.m., receptions/lectures, and by appointment. For more information, contact Slocumb Galleries’ Director Karlota Contreras-Koterbay via email or call/text 423.483.3179. Parking and handicapped access are available. Please visit the ETSU PlanIt Calendar under Exhibitions or for event updates.


Location Information:
ETSU Main Campus - Ball Hall
Room: Slocumb Galleries
Contact Information:
Name: Karlota Contreras-Koterbay
Phone: 423.483.3179
Magenta Miu Mou Bag with Knife by Blazo Kovacevic
Web Address (URL):

Calendar Software powered by Dude Solutions   
Select item(s) to Search
Select item(s) to Search
Select item(s) to Search
Select item(s) to Search