Skip to content
ETSU Search
Search events. View events.

All Categories

Submit Events

Welcome to ETSU calendar. Please use the Help button to the right for any assistance while using the Calendar.

Click for help in using calendar displays. Print the contents of the current screen.

Advanced Search

(New Search)

Event Details
Notify me if this event changes.Add this event to my personal calendar.Email this event to a friend.
Go Back
Minority Rule: 28th Annual Positive/Negative National Juried Art Exhibition at Slocumb Galleries
Start Date: 3/6/2013Start Time: 8:00 AM
End Date: 3/6/2013End Time: 4:30 PM
This event recurs on a custom schedule.   Click here to see the series dates.

Event Description:

The Slocumb Galleries and the Department of Art & Design at East Tennessee State University in partnership with the Office of Multicultural Affairs, Black Affairs Association and the ETSU Student Government Association (SGA) proudly present the 28th Annual Positive/Negative National Juried Art Exhibition from February 18 to March 8, 2013. Juror Charles will present a lecture on March 4, Monday, 5 p.m. at the Ernest C. Ball Hall Auditorium, reception follows at the Slocumb Galleries.

This year’s exhibition theme is Minority Rule, featuring work in diverse media and perspective described by the juror as “nuanced artworks that reflect the complexities artists confront today.” The 38 participating artists are: Aaron Bernard (NC), Julia Brown (DC), Neil Callander (MS), Eugene Campbell Jr. (TX), Tracy Deer (NJ), Theresa Devine (AZ), Latefy Dolley (TN), Addie Fisher (NH), Dilenia Garcia-Carpio (AR), Brian Glaze (NC), Troy Gua (WA), Lauren Hill (FL), Kevin R. Kao (TN), Jung Han Kim (CA), Iva Kinnaird (TX), Patti Lawrence (TN), Lily Martine Lee (OR), Joe Levickas (MI), Alisha Lewis (FL), David Marquez (KY), Cynthia Marsh (TN), Dele Mercier (OR), Althea Murphy-Price (TN), Lindsay A. Nissen (IA), Tony Ortega (CO), Shani Peters (NY), Bryan Petersen (MT), Sam Romero (FL), RaMell Ross (RI), Melissa Ann Vandenberg (KY), David Versluis (IA), Sara Vida (MI), Xiaomiao Wang (OK), Margi Weir (MI), Charles Williams (SC), David Willison (FL), Tammy Jo Wilson (OR), and Amelia Winger-Bearskin (TN).

This year’s Juror is acclaimed contemporary artist Michael Ray Charles, an African American painter based in Texas and one of the first group of artists featured at the high profile series on contemporary art at PBS - ART21.  His work have been reviewed and documented on various publications and film documentaries, one of which is “Race Is Place” in 2006, he was also consultant to Spike Lee’s film “Bamboozled.”  He has served as a panelist for the National Endowment for the Arts and his work are on private and public collection including the Museum of Fine Arts in Houston, Albright-Knox Art Gallery, San Antonio Museum of Art, Austin Museum of Art and the Museum of Modern Art.

For more information, please contact the Slocumb Galleries’ Director, Karlota I. Contreras-Koterbay via email or call 423.483.3179. All events at the Slocumb Galleries are open to the public free of charge. The Slocumb Galleries are located at Ernest C. Ball Hall along Sherrod Drive, open Mondays thru Fridays from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. with extended hours during receptions and scheduled group tours. For event updates, please visit or ETSU PlanIt Calendar under Museum and Galleries category. You may also ‘Like’ or ‘Friend’ us at Facebook to receive event updates.

Location Information:
ETSU Main Campus - Ball Hall
Room: Auditorium

ETSU Main Campus - Ball Hall
Room: Slocumb Galleries
Contact Information:
Name: Karlota I. Contreras-Koterbay
Phone: 423.483.3179
Positive Negative 28
Web Address (URL):

Calendar Software powered by Dude Solutions   
Select item(s) to Search
Select item(s) to Search
Select item(s) to Search
Select item(s) to Search