Skip to content
ETSU Search
Search events. View events.

All Categories

Submit Events

Welcome to ETSU calendar. Please use the Help button to the right for any assistance while using the Calendar.

Click for help in using calendar displays. Print the contents of the current screen.

Advanced Search

(New Search)

Event Details
Notify me if this event changes.Add this event to my personal calendar.Email this event to a friend.
Go Back
Notable Women 2013 Call for Nominations
Start Date: 2/4/2013
End Date: 2/4/2013
This event recurs on Monday every week until 3/18/2013.   Click here to see the series dates.

Event Description:
Call for Nominations Notable Women of ETSU 2013 I invite you, on behalf of the Women’s Studies Program, to nominate someone for the Notable Women of ETSU award. We are privileged to have on our campus numerous women academics whose expertise has had an impact in the region and far beyond it. To honor these women and their work, Women’s Studies will present its Twelfth Annual Notable Women of ETSU colloquium next fall. The purpose of the award and colloquium is to honor and celebrate notable women by: 1) exposing ETSU and the surrounding community to the expertise and accomplishments of women academics on our campus; 2) providing a forum for the exchange of ideas, research, and projects that are generated by women faculty; and 3) identifying women faculty at ETSU whose work has advanced our understanding of women and their --lives. Honorees will contribute in notable ways to one or more of these goals. Previous honorees are: Dr. Edith Seier and Dr. Leslie MacAvoy (2012); Professor Kathleen Higginson Grover and Dr. Marie Tedesco (2011); Dr. Ardis Nelson and Dr. Martha Copp (2010); Dr. Dorothy Dobbins and Dr. Priscilla Wyrick (2009); Dr. Judith Slagle and Dr. Joellen Edwards (2008); Dr. Peggy Cantrell and Dr. Maria Niederberger (2007); Dr. Theresa Lura and Dr. Mary Hooks (2006); Dr. Teresa Haynes and Dr. Rebecca Pyles (2005); Dr. Patricia Robertson and Dr. Roberta Herrin (2004); Dr. Wilsie Bishop and Dr. Elizabeth McCord (2003); and Dr. Joyce Duncan and Dr. Susan Grover (2002).
Please consider whom you might nominate for this esteemed award and send us your electronic nomination. Nominations will be accepted through Friday, March 22 at 4 PM. Two honorees will be selected as our 2013 Notable Women of ETSU by vote of the Women’s Studies Steering Committee and will be announced in April.
To nominate a notable woman: Send electronic versions of the nominee’s CV and one letter or email of nomination (no more than four pages). Include the nominee’s name, title, academic rank, and departmental affiliation. The nomination letter should complement the CV rather than duplicate its contents and specifically address why you believe she is a Notable Woman of ETSU, including: 
  • How she contributes to the campus and/or larger community
  • How her professional work or personal journeys/stories inspire women or influence their lives
  • How she has contributed to her discipline or area of interest in terms of service, teaching, administration, “unsung” areas,
  • and/or research
Questions and nominations can be sent via email to: .I look forward to your nominations and to celebrating the notable women on our campus with you. Dr. Phyllis Thompson Director, Women's Studies 439-4125
Contact Information:
Name: Veronica Limeberry
Phone: 423-439-4125
Women's Studies Program

Calendar Software powered by Dude Solutions   
Select item(s) to Search
Select item(s) to Search
Select item(s) to Search
Select item(s) to Search